IPL 7 : Most Awaiting T20 Tournament of 2014

Indian Premier League 2014 is all about to start off from April 16 this time. A unique cocktail of glamour and cricket, IPL has brought a really urbane touch to t20 cricket- and has almost single handedly responsible for the escalating popularity of this newest form of cricket. This year the cash rich league will be stepping at its 7th edition with the mission to entertain the cricket enthusiasts all over again. Are you looking forward for some IPL 7 trivia? Well, the post below can be handy.

To start with, the IPL 7 season would involve 8 powerful teams including the newly founded Sunrisers Hyderabad. Pune Warriors won’t be playing this time given legal issues. Apart from SH, the other 7 IPL squads are Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Daredevils, Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings.

The notable Indian players playing in the tournament are Gautam Gambhir, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, M.S. Dhoni and many more. Deserted by his previos team Delhi Daredevils, Virendra Sehwag has been taken up by Kings XI Punjab. As Pune Warriors is not in the scene any more, Yuvraj Singh has shifted to another team- Mumbai Indians has bought him with a whopping 14 crore INR, the highest in the IPL 7 auction. Sadly, the cricket world would be missing master blaster Sachin Tendulkar in IPL from this year onwards. The dominant international players in IPL 7 are Shane Watson, Lasith malinga, Kevin Pietersen, Mike Hussey, Sunil Narine, Chris Gayle etc.

The IPL 7 auction was held in Bangalore this February (12th & 13th) where 154 players were sold. Kevin Pietersen was the most expensive foreign player at the auction and Karan Sharma was the costliest among the uncapped cricketers. As many as 13 Joker Cards were used at the auction by the 8 franchises and the maximum was capitalized by Delhi Daredevils, given its no retention policy prior to the auction.

The initial IPL 7 venues have been selected at UAE given the clash of the tournament dates with Lok Sabha elections in India. The first 20 matches that would be held at UAE are to be played at Abu Dhabi (Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium), Dubai (Dubai International Cricket Stadium).  The Indian venues are Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai); Eden Gardens ( Kolkata); Feroz Shah Kotla (Delhi); M. Chinnaswamy Stadium ( Bangalore); Punjab Cricket Association Stadium ( Mohali); JSCA International Cricket Stadium ( Ranchi); Sardar Patel Stadium ( Ahmedabad); Barabati Stadium (Cuttack) Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium ( Hyderabad) ; and M. A. Chidambaram Stadium ( Chennai).

IPL 7 would start on April 16 with MI V KKR match and the last UAE match is on April 30 between MI & SH. Both the matches would be hosted by Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium. IPL 7 would have its first match in India on May 2 at JSCA International Cricket Stadium ( Ranchi), between CSK & KKR. The last group match is May 25 at Wankhede Stadium between MI & RR. The final is on June 1 at Wankhede Stadium.

The starting price of IPL 7 tickets are AED20 (Abu Dhabi), AED30 (Dubai) and UED30 (Sharjah).

Quick Link: IPL 2014 Schedule Download

25 thoughts on “IPL 7 : Most Awaiting T20 Tournament of 2014

    1. sajad ahmad deva

      inshaah allah……if pak team participated in this ipl , it will become more entertaining than ever before…..

  1. Selvan

    Dhoni irukkum pothu yen kavalai its sure CSK is win this IPL 2013 chennai super kingsuku periya visil adinga

  2. Vicky Sadhu

    So, here come the IPL 7. Its all started here the biggest gaming festival of india. So, guys which team you are supporting in IPL 7? i have 3 choice, KKR, RCB and CSK :D Though, RCB is all time favourite.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>